How to follow your dreams?

How to follow your dreams?

“Anything is possible.” “You have to try to succeed.” “You can do ANYTHING you set your mind to.” But can you actually….?

Doubt clouds my mind, as my dream comes closer to reach. In three short months I will be auditioning for a college dance team. This has been my dream since I started high school dance team freshman year, and I’ve been working hard in attempt to fulfill my dream ever since. I tell everyone I’m excited, and a little nervous, of course…but that I’ve been practicing a lot and I think I can do it. As I tell them that I know that my words are the biggest understatement ever. However, as I stroll through my Instagram and see photos of UDA nations, I am beyond excited to (hopefully) be apart of that. As the audition date comes closer, I’m far past being nervous. I’m scared as hell. I’ve been practicing but not enough. My competition are girls that dance every single day. I know I have to step it up. On top of all this one question lingers in my mind…what if I fail?

Today I’m deciding to toss that though from my mind. No more ‘What ifs.’ Today I’m going to start believing the ridiculous and cheesy quotes that inspires many. You can’t go through life worrying about failure, that’s how the scared and unsuccessful live. Today is my time (and yours) to stop worrying and start trying. Enjoy the process of getting better and working hard. Then, when you have everything you ever wanted you can remember that you earned it.

 

Leave a comment